meat school classes are taught by smoking goose butchers in our USDA-inspected meatery.

Dress the part as we'll provide your butcher's uniform including a Smoking Goose butcher's hat for you to take home along with your porcine treats! 

Enjoy behind-the-scEnes tour + private tasting and hearty spread of snacks and drinks at break time.

Whole Hog Butchering Class
Friday, November 9, 2018
Friday, January 18, 2019
Friday, APril 19, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Friday, October 18, 2019

Together the class will break down a whole hog by hand through traditional, seam butchery techniques. Participants take home a prime selection of the fresh pork we'll be butchering that evening. 

$150 per person

SausageCollageTight.jpg

full on forcemeat: sausages and pates
Friday, December 7, 2018
Friday, February 15, 2019
Friday, May 17, 2019
Friday, August 16, 2019
Friday, November 8, 2019

Master the skills and recipe ratios for sausages and pates from classic to modern. From cutting, blending, and working with natural casings to pate formulations, pan linings, ingredient layering, and cooking, participants will leave class with the experience to prepare their own meat treats and riff on their own recipes.

$120 per person

Just encased: salumi making
Friday, October 19, 2018
Friday, March 15, 2019
Friday, June 21, 2019
Friday, September 20, 2019
Friday, December 6, 2019

Salame, salumi, salami: learn the entire process from grinding and seasoning to stuffing, tying, and fermenting. Get the inside scoop on working with fermenting cultures and aging environments. Experience how different types of protein (pork, lamb, elk, game) impact recipes, aging techniques, and flavor profiles.

SalumiHangingSquare.jpg

For all classes, we'll provide your butcher's uniform including a Smoking Goose butcher's hat for you to take home along with your porcine treats! 

Enjoy behind-the-scnes tour + private tasting and hearty spread of snacks and drinks at break time.